Sunday, 3 April 2011

ICC World ODI XI Squad : Dhoni not in ICC World ODI XI

Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh and Zaheer Khan were named by the ICC in its World ODI XI but MS Dhoni failed to find a place.

Four Sri Lankans -- Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan and Muttiah Muralitharan -- two South Africans, an Australian and a Pakistani were also also among those who made the XI announced after the conclusion of the 2011 ICC CWC.

Ironically, Kumar Sangakkara, who was outmaneuvered by Dhoni in the final, was named captain of the team.

Although the Indian wicketkeeper-captain had not done much with the bat till the final, his bold unbeaten 91 last night guided India to its second World Cup triumph.

The team was chosen by a select group of experts who were given the task of picking a balanced side for sub-continental conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament.

Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

Pakistan has only one representative in captain Shahid Afridi while South Africa's AB de Villiers and Dale Steyn also found a berth in the side.

Shane Watson was the only Australian representative while New Zealand pacer Tim Southee was named the 12th man. No England player featured in the team.

Some of the other names that were discussed included Ross Taylor and Jacob Oram of New Zealand, Jonathan Trott and Graeme Swann of England, Ireland,s Kevin O'Brien, Kemar Roach and Kieron Pollard of the West Indies, Imran Tahir of South Africa, Upal Tharanga and Lasith Malinga of Sri Lanka and the Netherlands' Ryan ten Doeschate.

Team of the Tournament (in batting order):

Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan (all from India), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara (WK and captain), Mahela Jayawardena, Muttiah Muralitharan (all from Sri Lanka), AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn (both South Africa), Shane Watson (Australia), Shahid Afridi (Pakistan).
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...